A Guy’s View of the Veil

liturgy guy

20140209-154516.jpg

Forest Gump, the fictitious lead character of the 1994 Academy Award winning movie of the same name, famously said, “I’m not a smart man, but I know what love is.” Well, apparently I must not be a smart man either, because I am actually going to tackle the touchy topic of women veiling at Mass.

At the outset, I want to make two things perfectly clear. First, I do realize I am a man and that most men stay clear of this topic by about a mile. However, as a Catholic, a husband and a father of four daughters, this is close to my heart.

Second, and let me be perfectly clear about this, veiling does not make one woman any more or less pious than another. Or to put this in a slightly different way: if you choose not to veil at the Holy Mass you are no less…

View original post 1,032 more words

Leave a Reply

